Homepage
Recording Philosophy
Label Philosophy
New Releases
Genuin News
Links
Team
Contakt
Label Philosophy
Worldwide Distribution
Genuin Artists

Yvonne Smeulers, Violin

The Dutch violinist Yvonne Smeulers is one of the most renowned soloists in her country. She has been highly praised in recent reviews of her performances, which speak of “never-ending ovations for a highly demanding and deeply moving recital” that transported audiences to fascinating soundscapes where they could “experience a breathtakingly expressive and exceptional artist.”

At the age of ten Yvonne Smeulers gave her debut at the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam with the Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto, and has been a sought-after international concert artist ever since. She has performed in many diff erent countries, including Russia, the Ukraine, the Netherlands, Belgium, France, Germany, England, Switzerland, Japan, Poland, Italy and Spain.

Smeulers has won several awards: In 2004 she was a prizewinner at the Premio Rodolfo Lipizer International Violin Competition in Gorizia, Italy, where she also won two special prizes. She has also won the Wronski Prize, the Bach Prize, the Interpretation Prize and the Audience Award at the International Violin Competition in Warsaw.

In 2003 Smeulers won the Marguerite Meister Competition in Zurich and the Special Jury Prize at the International Violin Competition in Nagoya (Japan). During her studies she was a prizewinner at the Prinses Christina Concours and the Herman Krebbers International Violin Competition. In addition, she won the Gubbio International Chamber Music Competition (Italy) as a chamber musician.

Her discography includes five CDs of works by Grieg, Schumann, Ravel, Prokofiev, Beethoven and Ysa˙e, as well as a highly praised double CD of works by Czech composers. Other reviews have emphasized her virtuosity and passionate performance style, one calling her Ysa˙e & Yvonne CD “an artistic achievement which clearly places Smeulers’s recording of these sonatas among the best currently available on disc.”

Yvonne Smeulers has been a Pirastro Artist since 2012 and performs exclusively on strings made by the Offenbach, Germany-based manufacturer.

In addition to her extensive performing career, for several years she has also been highly sought after as a teacher and professor of violin and chamber music, mainly in Russia and Switzerland. She has been the director of the August Wilhelmj Music Institute since October of 2019.

Yvonne Smeulers plays a violin made in 1785 by Giovanni Battista Guadagnini, a generous loan by a private sponsor for her use.

Photo: Irčne Zandel

The Artist's Homepage: http://www.yvonnesmeulers.com


Between Heaven and Earth

Violin Concertos by Beethoven and Berg

Yvonne Smeulers, Violin - Peter Kuhn, Conductor - Brandenburgisches Staatsorchester Frankfurt

GEN 20702Katalog

Ysa˙e & Yvonne

Six Sonatas for Solo Violin, Op. 27 by Eugčne Ysa˙e

Yvonne Smeulers, Violin

GEN 16417Katalog

Homepage
Aufnahme-Philosophie
Label-Philosophie
Neuerscheinungen
Genuin News
Links
Team
Kontakt
Label-Philosophie
Weltweite Vertriebe
Genuin-Künstler

Yvonne Smeulers, Violine

Die niederländische Geigerin Yvonne Smeulers ist eine der renommiertesten Solistinnen ihres Landes. Die internationale Presse schreibt in aktuellen Konzertkritiken über die niederländische Geigensolistin von „nicht enden wollenden Ovationen für einen anspruchsvollen und zutiefst anrührenden Konzertabend“, auf dem sie ihre Konzerthörer in faszinierende Klangwelten entführe und man eine „atemberaubend ausdrucksvolle Ausnahmekünstlerin erleben“ könne.

Im Alter von zehn Jahren gab Yvonne Smeulers ihr Debut im Concertgebouw in Amsterdam mit dem Tschaikowsky-Violinkonzert, seitdem ist sie eine viel gefragte internationale Künstlerin mit Konzerten unter anderem in Russland, der Ukraine, den Niederlanden, Belgien, Frankreich, Deutschland, England, der Schweiz, Japan, Polen, Italien und Spanien.

Yvonne Smuelers wurde mehrfach ausgezeichnet: 2004 wurde sie Preisträgerin beim Internationalen Violinwettbewerb "Premio Rodolfo Lipizer" im italienischen Görz, wo ihr darüber hinaus zwei weitere Spezialpreise zuerkannt wurden. Zuvor erhielt sie beim Internationalen Violinwettbewerb in Warschau den Wronski-Preis, den Bach-Preis, den Interpretationspreis sowie den Publikumspreis.

2003 gewann Yvonne Smeulers den Marguerite Meister Wettbewerb in Zürich und wurde beim Internationalen Violinwettbewerb in Nagoya (Japan) mit dem Sonderpreis der Jury ausgezeichnet. Während ihres Studiums war sie Preisträgerin des „Prinses Christina Concours“ und des Internationalen Violinwettbewerb Herman Krebbers. Als Kammermusikerin gewann sie den Internationalen Kammermusikwettbewerb von Gubbio (Italien).

Ihre bisherige Diskografie umfasst fünf CDs mit Kompositionen von Grieg, Schumann, Ravel, Prokofjew, Beethoven und Ysaÿe sowie eine Doppel-CD mit Musik tschechischer Komponisten, die von der Fachpresse mit den höchsten Noten bewertet wurde. In anderen CD-Kritiken werden ihre Virtuosität und ihr passioniertes Spiel hervorgehoben, über die CD Ysaÿe und Yvonne heißt es: “Eine künstlerische Leistung, vermöge derer Yvonne Smeulers’ Aufnahme dieser Sonaten zweifellos zu den besten gezählt werden kann, die der CD-Markt derzeit zu bieten hat.”

Seit 2012 ist sie exklusiver „Promotion Artist“ des weltweit führenden Saitenherstellers PIRASTRO (Offenbach/Germany).

Neben ihrer umfangreichen künstlerischen Tätigkeit ist sie seit einigen Jahren als international tätige Geigenpädagogin und Professorin für Violine und Kammermusik mit Schwerpunkt in Russland und der Schweiz gefragt. Seit Oktober 2019 ist sie die Direktorin des August Wilhelmj Musikinstituts.

Yvonne Smeulers spielt auf einer Violine von Giovanni Battista Guadagnini aus dem Jahr
1785, die ihr von privater Seite zur Verfügung gestellt wird.

Foto: Irène Zandel

Die Künstler-Homepage: http://www.yvonnesmeulers.com


Between Heaven and Earth

Violinkonzerte von Beethoven und Berg

Yvonne Smeulers, Violine - Peter Kuhn, Dirigent - Brandenburgisches Staatsorchester Frankfurt

GEN 20702DetailsKatalog

Ysaÿe & Yvonne

Sechs Sonaten für Violine solo op. 27 von Eugène Ysaÿe

Yvonne Smeulers, Violine

GEN 16417DetailsKatalog