eardrum percussion duo

Artist photo of eardrum percussion duo

The eardrum percussion duo was founded in 2006 by percussionists Domenico Melchiorre and Johannes Fischer in Freiburg, Germany. Together the two have won several prizes at national music competitions and pursue a busy career performing in Germany and abroad. Their repertoire includes important works of the 20th and 21st century by composers such as Philippe Manoury, Steve Reich, Gerard Grisey, Mauricio Kagel, Younghi Pagh-Paan, to name a few. The duo comissioned several new pieces by N.A. Huber, Dieter Mack, Gerald Eckert, Hans Wüthrich (Switzerland), Francesco Paradiso (Italy), Eugene Ughetti (Australia) and Jeffry Trevino (USA). Unusual sound sources such as sound sculptures, electronics or newly invented instruments by Domenico are also part of their instrumental set-up. The audience is regulary amazed by their vital and energizing performances as well as their sense for sounds and gestural expresssion. Domenico Melchiorre is currently Solo Timpanist with the Sinfonieorchester Basel and Johannes Fischer is head of the percussion department at the University of Music in Lübeck since 2009.

CDs released by GENUIN

with eardrum percussion duo