Homepage
Recording Philosophy
Label Philosophy
New Releases
Genuin News
Links
Team
Contakt
Genuin News
Dates

GENUIN oversees the recording of Orellana Mejía's Symphony at the documenta in Athens


28.6.2017: Today, the world premiere of the "Sinfonia desde el Tercer Mundo" by Joaquín Orellana Mejía will take place in Athens, with the GENUIN sound master Michael Silberhorn overseeing the recording. The symphony is part of documenta 14 and will be premiered in the evening at the Christos Lambrakis Hall in the impressive Megaron Concert Hall in Athens.

Among the ensembles peforming are the Athens State Orchestra, three choirs and the percussion orchestra "Utiles Sonore" ("Sound Tools"). There is also a traditional marimba ensemble from Guatemala. The marimba was developed in Guatemala. On this instrument, Orellana Mejía oriented himself for his "sound tools" of the percussion orchestra, which are not only musical, but are also a sculptural part of the composition.



Joaquín Orellana Mejía was born in 1937 in Guatemala City. He was a violinist at the Orquesta Sinfónica Nacional de Guatemala, worked in the Dirección General de Bellas Artes de Guatemala and taught at the National Conservatory. With the symphony, Mejía interprets the history and soundscape of his native Guatemala.



The world premiere takes place within the framework of documenta 14, the world's most important series of exhibitions for contemporary art, which is held every five years in Kassel. In addition, Athens will be an exhibition venue until July 16, while the exhibitions will be held in Kassel until September 17, 2017.

The "Sinfonia desde el Tercer Mundo" at documenta 14 in Athens

The program announcement of the symphony


More about the Christos Lambrakis Hall in the Athens Concert Hall



Photography: Michael Silberhorn

Homepage
Aufnahme-Philosophie
Label-Philosophie
Neuerscheinungen
Genuin News
Links
Team
Kontakt
Genuin News
Termine

GENUIN betreut Aufnahme von Orellana Mejías Sinfonie auf documenta in Athen


28.6.2017: Heute findet in Athen die Weltpremiere der „Sinfonia desde el Tercer Mundo“ von Joaquín Orellana Mejía statt, bei der GENUIN-Tonmeister Michael Silberhorn die Aufnahme betreut. Die Sinfonie ist Teil der documenta 14 und wird am Abend in der Christos Lambrakis Hall der beeindruckenden Athener Konzerthalle Megaron uraufgeführt.

Zu den Klangkörpern gehören das Athener Staatsorchester, drei Chöre und das Percussion-Orchester „Utiles Sonore“ (Klangwerkzeuge). Außerdem spielt ein traditionelles Marimba-Ensemble aus Guatemala. Die Marimba wurde in Guatemala entwickelt. An diesem Instrument orientierte sich Orellana Mejía für seine „Klangwerkzeuge“ des Percussion-Orchesters, die nicht nur musikalischer, sondern auch skulpturaler Bestand der Komposition sind.



Joaquín Orellana Mejía wurde 1937 in Guatemala Stadt geboren. Er war Violinist beim Orquesta Sinfónica Nacional de Guatemala, arbeitete in der Dirección General de Bellas Artes de Guatemala und unterrichtete am Nationalkonservatorium. Mit der Sinfonie interpretiert Mejía die Geschichte und Tonlandschaft seines Landes Guatemala.



Die Weltpremiere findet im Rahmen der documenta 14 statt, die weltweit bedeutendste Reihe von Ausstellungen für zeitgenössische Kunst, die alle fünf Jahre in Kassel ausgetragen wird. In diesem Jahr ist zusätzlich auch Athen noch bis zum 16. Juli ein Ausstellungsort, in Kassel laufen die Ausstellungen bis zum 17. September 2017.

Die "Sinfonia desde el Tercer Mundo" auf der documenta 14 in Athen

Zur Programmankündigung der Sinfonie


Über die Christos Lambrakis Hall in der Athener Konzerthalle



Fotos: Michael Silberhorn