Homepage
Recording Philosophy
Label Philosophy
New Releases
Genuin News
Links
Team
Contakt
Genuin News
Dates

GENUIN and Wave Field Synthesis


(Press notice) The fruits of the collaboration begun in December 2006 between GENUIN Music Production Leipzig and the Fraunhofer Institute for Digital Media Technology in Ilmenau can be admired on 5 and 6 May 2007 at the International AES Convention in Vienna. The project is the soundtrack production for the computer game “The Settlers 6,” recorded in January 2007 by the Brandenburg State Orchestra Frankfurt.

A number of spatial microphones were positioned in the concert hall for this recording, in addition to the extensive use of orchestral and surround microphones, in order to allow for the later adaptation of the recording to a Wave Field Synthesis loudspeaker system. This mixing in three different Wave Field Synthesis systems took place in Ilmenau during March and April 2007. The results of this were so convincing that that the Fraunhofer Institute will be demonstrating the soundtrack at the 2007 AES (Audio Engineering Society) Convention in Vienna.

The Fraunhofer Association has already attained high world-wide prestige for the development of the MP3 procedure. It is now researching the next generation of audio reproduction which will one day replace the surround recording procedure and revolutionise music reproduction: Wave Field Synthesis.

Wave Field Synthesis is a new kind of audio-reproduction procedure in which a virtual acoustical field is produced by a large number of loudspeakers. Virtual sound sources (e.g. musical instruments or noises) can be positioned and moved almost at will within this sound field. The acoustical illusion and spatial impression are so perfect that they remind one of a holographic image.

GENUIN Music Production moved its headquarters from Detmold to Leipzig a good two years ago and concentrates on the recording and worldwide distribution of classical music. Important clients include the MDR, Deutschlandradio and the Dresden Philharmonic. Its position as a young and innovative enterprise in the area of media will be further developed and expanded through this collaboration with the Fraunhofer Institute.

The Fraunhofer Institute in Ilmenau

Homepage
Aufnahme-Philosophie
Label-Philosophie
Neuerscheinungen
Genuin News
Links
Team
Kontakt
Genuin News
Termine

GENUIN und die Wellenfeldsynthese


(Pressemeldung) Die Früchte der im Dezember 2006 begonnenen Zusammenarbeit von GENUIN Musikproduktion Leipzig und dem Fraunhofer-Institut für Digitale Medientechnologie in Ilmenau sind am 5. und 6. Mai 2007 auf der internationalen AES-Convention in Wien zu bewundern. Es handelt sich um die Soundtrack-Produktion für das Computerspiel "Die Siedler 6", die im Januar '07 mit dem Brandenburgischen Staatsorchester Frankfurt aufgenommen wurde.

Dabei wurden - zusätzlich zu der aufwendigen Orchester- und Surround-Mikrofonierung - etliche Raummikrofone im Konzertsaal positioniert, um die spätere Anpassung der Aufnahme an ein Wellenfeldsynthese-Lautsprechersystem zu ermöglichen. Im März und April '07 erfolgte die Abmischung auf drei verschiedenen Wellenfeldsynthese-Systemen in Ilmenau. Die Ergebnisse waren dabei so überzeugend, dass das Fraunhofer-Institut den Soundtrack auf der AES-(Audio Engineering Society)-Convention 2007 in Wien vorführen wird.

Die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft hat bereits bei der Entwicklung des MP3-Verfahrens weltweit hohes Ansehen erlangt. Nun erforscht sie die nächste Generation der Audio-Wiedergabe, die eines Tages das Surround-Aufnahmeverfahren ablösen und die Musikwiedergabe revolutionieren soll: die Wellenfeldsynthese.

Die Wellenfeldsynthese ist ein neuartiges Audio-Wiedergabe-verfahren, bei der durch eine Vielzahl von Lautsprechern ein virtuelles akustisches Feld erzeugt wird. In diesem Schallfeld können virtuelle Schallquellen (z.B. Musikinstrumente oder Geräusche) nahezu beliebig positioniert und bewegt werden. Die akustische Illusion und der Raumeindruck sind dabei derart perfekt, dass sie an ein holografisches Abbild erinnern.

GENUIN Musikproduktion hat seinen Sitz vor gut zwei Jahren von Detmold nach Leipzig verlegt und konzentriert sich auf die Aufnahme und den weltweiten Vertrieb von klassischer Musik. Wichtige Kunden sind der MDR, Deutschlandradio sowie die Dresdner Philharmonie. Durch die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Fraunhofer-Institut soll die Position als junges und innovatives Unternehmen im Medienbereich ausgebaut werden.

Das Fraunhofer-Institut in Ilmenau