Homepage
Recording Philosophy
Label Philosophy
New Releases
Genuin News
Links
Team
Contakt
Label Philosophy
Worldwide Distribution
Genuin Artists

Christoph Sietzen, Percussion

Christoph Sietzen is one of the outstanding percussionists of his generation. Acclaimed by the press as a “rare talent” and praised for his “refreshing musical naturalness, technical mastery and dazzling feeling as well as... powerful stage presence,” he was a prize winner at, among others, the ARD International Music Competition in Munich, named a “Rising Star” by the European Concert Hall Organisation and will perform at the most important concert halls in Europe during the 2017/2018 season.

After making his debut at the Salzburg Festival as a twelve-year-old, Christoph Sietzen already began to teach at the University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna when only 22. Born into a Luxembourgian family in Salzburg in 1992, Christoph Sietzen studied marimba with Bogdan Bácanu and percussion with Leonhard Schmidinger and Josef Gumpinger at the Anton Bruckner Private University Linz, where he earned two Master’s degrees with highest honors. In order to immerse himself in the study of Baroque music, Christoph Sietzen also studied string bass and harpsichord.

Christoph Sietzen has appeared as a guest artist at several of the world’s most important concert halls, among them the Philharmonie Luxembourg, the Vienna Konzerthaus, the Large Festival Hall Salzburg, Suntory Hall Tokyo, Konzerthaus Berlin, at Munich’s Herkulessaal and at the Romanian Athenaeum in Bucharest. He performed with orchestras such as the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg, the Romanian National Symphony Orchestra, the Bilkent Symphony Orchestra and Cologne’s WDR Funkhausorchester and with fellow concert artists such as Bodgan Bácanu, Peter Sadlo, Martin Grubinger, Emmanuel Séjourné and Momoko Kamiya.

Composers such as Alexander Mullenbach, Alexander Wagendristel, Jakob Gruchmann and Ivan Boumanns have dedicated compositions to Christoph Sietzen. The co-founder and drummer of the band The Police, Stewart Copeland, who has also created over 60 TV and movie soundtracks, has been commissioned to compose a new work for Christoph Sietzen to perform on his ECHO Rising Stars concert tour. Christoph Sietzen regularly teaches master classes as far afield as Japan, China, Spain, Portugal, Romania and the Netherlands.

His discography includes recordings as a member of The Wave Quartet marimba ensemble beginning with the ensemble’s debut CD released in 2008, followed in 2009 by a recording of all three concertos for two harpsichords by Johann Sebastian Bach arranged for marimba. Arrangements of Baroque works have played an important part in the repertoire of The Wave Quartet and were also included in the third recording by the ensemble released in 2011. Winner of the Supersonic Award, the CD Loco was released on GENUIN classics in 2016 and features arrangements of works by Astor Piazzolla, Carlos Gardel and Rodrigo y Gabriela.

The November 2016 release, Lauda Concertata, includes a concerto for marimba and orchestra composed especially for the quartet, which was given its premiere performance at the Brucknerhaus Linz in the spring of 2017. Christoph Sietzen is an endorser of the Dutch instrument maker Adams Musical Instruments.

Picture: Daniel Delang

The Artist's Homepage: www.christophsietzen.com


Attraction

Works by Emmanuel Séjourné, Iannis Xenakis, Arvo Pärt, Andrew Thomas, Bruce Hamilton and John Psathas

Christoph Sietzen, Percussion

GEN 17455Katalog

Homepage
Aufnahme-Philosophie
Label-Philosophie
Neuerscheinungen
Genuin News
Links
Team
Kontakt
Label-Philosophie
Weltweite Vertriebe
Genuin-Künstler

Christoph Sietzen, Percussion

Christoph Sietzen gehört zu den herausragenden Schlagwerkern seiner Generation. In der Presse als Ausnahmetalent“ und für seine „erfrischende musikantische Natürlichkeit, technische Beherrschung und blendendes Feeling sowie (...) ausgeprägte Bühnenpräsenz“ gefeiert, ist er unter anderem Preisträger des Internationalen Musikwettbewerbs der ARD sowie „Rising Star“ der European Concert Hall Organisation und wird in diesem Rahmen in der Saison 2017/2018 in den bedeutendsten Konzerthäusern Europas konzertieren.

Darüber hinaus begann Christoph Sietzen, der im Alter von zwölf Jahren sein Debüt bei den Salzburger Festspielen gab, mit bereits 22 Jahren an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst Wien zu unterrichten. Der in Salzburg geborene Luxemburger lernte seit seinem sechsten Lebensjahr bei Martin Grubinger (Sen.) und studierte später Marimba bei Bogdan Bácanu und Schlagwerk bei Leonhard Schmidinger und Josef Gumpinger an der Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität Linz, wo er sein Studium mit Auszeichnung abschloss. Darüber hinaus widmete sich Christoph Sietzen seinem Zweitinstrument, dem Kontrabass, sowie dem Cembalo-Spiel, um sich intensiv mit der Musik des Barock auseinandersetzen zu können.

Für Konzertengagements gastierte Christoph Sietzen in einigen der weltweit renommiertesten Konzertsäle, darunter die Philharmonie Luxembourg, das Konzerthaus Wien, das Große Festspielhaus Salzburg, die Suntory Hall Tokyo, das Konzerthaus Berlin, der Herkulessaal München und das Athenäum Bukarest. Dabei arbeitete er mit künstlerischen Partnern wie dem Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, dem Mozarteumorchester Salzburg, dem Romanian National Symphony Orchestra, dem Bilkent Sinfonieorchester und dem WDR Funkhausorchester Köln sowie mit Bogdan Bácanu, Peter Sadlo, Martin Grubinger, Emmanuel Séjourné und Momoko Kamiya.

Komponisten wie Alexander Mullenbach, Alexander Wagendristel, Jakob Gruchmann und Ivan Boumanns schrieben Werke für Christoph Sietzen. Für seine ECHO „Rising Stars“-Tournee komponiert außerdem Stewart Copeland, Mitbegründer und Drummer der Band The Police sowie Schöpfer von über 60 Kino- und TV-Soundtracks, ein neues Auftragswerk für Christoph Sietzen. Regelmäßig gibt Christoph Sietzen Meisterkurse, die ihn bisher nach Japan, China, Spanien, Portugal, Rumänien und in die Niederlande führten.

Bisherige CD-Veröffentlichungen Christoph Sietzens umfassen die Aufnahmen, an denen er als Mitglied des Marimba-Ensembles The Wave Quartet beteiligt war: So erschien 2008 die Debüt-CD des Ensembles, der bereits 2009 eine Aufnahme mit allen drei Konzerten Johann Sebastian Bachs für zwei Cembali in Bearbeitung für Marimba folgten. Bearbeitungen von Repertoire der Barockzeit sind seit der Gründung des Quartetts wichtiger Bestandteil seines Repertoires und fanden auch Eingang in die dritte Aufnahme des Ensembles, die 2011 erschien. Die im Januar 2016 bei GENUIN classics erschienene Einspielung Loco mit Bearbeitungen von Werken von Astor Piazzolla, Carlos Gardel und Rodrigo y Gabriela wurde mit dem Supersonic Award ausgezeichnet.

Auf der im November 2016 erschienenen CD Lauda Concertata ist ein eigens für das Quartett komponiertes Konzert für Marimba und Orchester zu hören, das im Frühjahr 2017 erstmals im Brucknerhaus Linz live der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt wurde. Christoph Sietzen ist Endorser des holländischen Instrumentenbauers Adams Musical Instruments.

Foto: Daniel Delang

Die Künstler-Homepage: www.christophsietzen.com


Attraction

Werke von Emmanuel Séjourné, Iannis Xenakis, Arvo Pärt, Andrew Thomas, Bruce Hamilton und John Psathas

Christoph Sietzen, Percussion

GEN 17455DetailsKatalog