Homepage
Recording Philosophy
Label Philosophy
New Releases
Genuin News
Links
Team
Contakt
Label Philosophy
Worldwide Distribution
Genuin Artists

Rolf-Dieter Arens, Piano

Born in 1945 in Zinnwald, Germany, Rolf-Dieter Arens was already taking piano lessons at the age of five. He studied piano and chamber music at the music academy “Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy” in Leipzig and attended master classes given by Paul Badura-Skoda. From 1986 until 1991, he was a regular soloist with the Berlin Symphony Orchestra, and toured Europe with them. He has also had concert appearances all over the world both as a soloist and in chamber ensembles. In 1995 he founded the chamber association “Weimar Soloists”. Arens has worked with such renowned conductors as Kurt Masur, Herbert Blomstedt, Marek Janowski and Neville Marriner. He has taken part in numerous radio broadcasts and has made recordings for television and CD productions. Arens has also been active as a jury member at important international piano competitions, such as the the “Bach” of Lipsia, the “Beethoven” of Vienna, the “Casagrande” of Terni and the “Liszt” of Budapest, Utrecht and Weimar.
The name Franz Liszt also pops up frequently in the life of Arens: from 1986 until 2012, he has been professor of piano at the LISZT SCHOOL of Music Weimar, and has been the school’s president from 2001 until 2010. Since 2000, he is artistic director of the International FRANZ LISZT Piano Competition Weimar – Bayreuth, and has been artistic director of several Liszt festivals including the Thuringian Liszt-year 2011. Since 2006, he is founding member of the NEW LISZT FOUNDATION. In 2011, he was awarded the “Premio Liszt” in Grottamare (Italy). In addition, Rolf-Dieter Arens was artistic director of the summer music academy at the Hundisburg castle from 1993 until 1999 and again since 2007. As president of the “Culture Foundation Leipzig”, his latest project was the creation of a permanent Wagner exhibition in the Nikolai church in the birth town of the composer that opened up in May 2013. In 2014, Arens was awarded the “Thuringian order of merit”. In the academic year 2014/15 Rolf-Dieter Arens will be guest professor for piano at the Mahidol University in Bangkok (Thailand).


Musikalisches Forellenmenü

Works by Franz Schöggl, Franz Schubert and Wolfram Langner

Consortium Vocale - Michael Gläser - Andreas Hartmann, Violin - Liv Bartels, Viola - Anna Niebuhr, Cello - Christopher Beuchert, Double Bass - Rolf-Dieter Arens, Piano - Ulrike Fulde, Soprano - Heiko Reintzsch, Piano - Heidrun Clemen, Piano - Laetitia-Quartett

GEN 16550Katalog

Homepage
Aufnahme-Philosophie
Label-Philosophie
Neuerscheinungen
Genuin News
Links
Team
Kontakt
Label-Philosophie
Weltweite Vertriebe
Genuin-Künstler

Rolf-Dieter Arens, Klavier

1945 in Zinnwald geboren, erhielt Rolf-Dieter Arens mit fünf Jahren seinen ersten Klavierunterricht. Von 1963 bis 1968 studierte er an der Hochschule für Musik „Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy“ Leipzig Klavier und Kammermusik. Außerdem nahm er an Meisterkursen bei Paul Badura-Skoda in Wien teil. Nach intensiver Lehrtätigkeit an den Musikhochschulen in Leipzig und Weimar in den Jahren 1970 bis 1986 wurde er 1986 als ordentlicher Professor für Klavier an die Hochschule für Musik FRANZ LISZT Weimar berufen. Parallel dazu unternahm er bis 1991 als Solist des Berliner Sinfonieorchesters ausgedehnte Tourneen durch ganz Europa und spielte darüber hinaus als Solist und Kammermusiker in Europa, Asien und Südamerika. Er konzertierte u. a. mit den Dirigenten Kurt Masur, Herbert Blomstedt, Sir Neville Marriner und Marek Janowski. Neben der Ausrichtung von Meisterkursen in Japan und Südkorea wirkt Arens regelmäßig als Juror bei internationalen Wettbewerben. Sein Schaffen ist in einer Fülle von Rundfunk- und TV-Aufnahmen sowie CD-Einspielungen dokumentiert.
Von 1993 bis 1999 sowie erneut seit 2007 ist Rolf-Dieter Arens zudem Künstlerischer Leiter der Sommermusikakademie Schloss Hundisburg. 1995 gründete er die Kammermusikvereinigung "Weimarer Solisten". Seit 2000 ist er Künstlerischer Leiter des Internationalen FRANZ LISZT Klavierwettbewerbs Weimar-Bayreuth. Seit 2006 wirkt Arens als Kuratoriumsmitglied in der Neue Liszt Stiftung Weimar. Von 2001 bis 2010 amtierte er als Rektor der Hochschule für Musik FRANZ LISZT Weimar. Für seine Verdienste um den Künstler und Musikvisionär Franz Liszt wurde ihm 2011 der "Premio Liszt" in Grottamare (Italien) verliehen. Als Präsident der Kulturstiftung Leipzig war Rolf-Dieter Arens für die Einrichtung einer Wagner-Dauerausstellung in der Alten Nikolaischule in der Geburtsstadt des Komponisten mit verantwortlich, die im Mai 2013 eröffnet wurde. Im Jahr 2014 wurde Arens mit dem Thüringer Verdienstorden geehrt. Im Studienjahr 2014/15 übernahm er eine Gastprofessur im Fach Klavier an der Mahidol University in Bangkok (Thailand).


Musikalisches Forellenmenü

Werke von Franz Schöggl, Franz Schubert und Wolfram Langner

Consortium Vocale - Michael Gläser, Leitung - Andreas Hartmann, Violine - Liv Bartels, Viola - Anna Niebuhr, Violoncello - Christopher Beuchert, Kontrabass - Rolf-Dieter Arens, Klavier - Ulrike Fulde, Sopran - Heiko Reintzsch, Klavier - Heidrun Clemen, Klavier - Laetitia-Quartett

GEN 16550DetailsKatalog