Homepage
Recording Philosophy
Label Philosophy
New Releases
Genuin News
Links
Team
Contakt
Label Philosophy
Worldwide Distribution
Genuin Artists

Bogdan Bácanu, Marimba

Bogdan Bácanu is one of the most prolific marimba players today and has made it a goal is to establish the marimba as a solo instrument in the world of music.

Born in Bucharest in 1975, Bogdan Bácanu was already a percussionist with the George Enescu Philharmonic in Bucharest at age 13 and became professor for marimba at the Anton Bruckner University in Linz at age 23, making him the youngest professor in his field worldwide. Since 2011 he has also been teaching at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna. Bogdan Bácanu himself studied marimba at the Mozarteum in Salzburg with Peter Saldo, his mentor.

Since the beginning of his career, Bogdan Bácanu has been giving solo recitals and concerts with orchestras and ensembles. Musical engagements have taken him all across Europe as well as to Asia, Australia, Canada, Mexico and the United States. He is also a regular guest at music festivals worldwide, performing at the Salzburg Music Festival, the Lockenhaus Festival, the Biennale in Brisbane, the Princeton Marimba Festival, the Voices of Percussion in Vienna, the Grafenegg Music Summer as well as the Carinthian Summer, the Donau Festival, the World Marimba Festival in Osaka and the “les musiques” Festival in Basel.

In concerts, he has worked together with musicians such as Gidon Kremer, Heinrich Schiff and Keiko Abe. He also has a close partnership with the Japanese marimba player Momoko Kamiya.

Bogdan Bácanu has played under the baton of numerous renowned conductors, including Dennis Russel Davies, Kent Nagano and Seiji Ozawa. He has also appeared as a soloist with the Stuttgart Chamber Orchestra, the Heilbronn Symphony Orchestra, the Romanian Radio National Orchestra and the Bucharest Philharmonic and well as with the Los Angeles Philharmonic, the New York Philharmonic and the London Philharmonic Orchestra.

As an interpreter of contemporary works, Bogdan Bácanu has made a name for himself in numerous world premieres. Composers like John Thrower, Alexander Müllenbach and Emmanuel Séjourné have dedicated works to him, several of which he has recorded on CD. Moreover, as a teacher and juror, Bocan Bácanu is regularly in demand at academies, festivals, universities and competitions worldwide. In 2006 he founded his own international marimba competition that is held every three years in cooperation with the Mozarteum in Salzburg and the international summer academy of the Anton Bruckner Private University.

In the course of his musical career, Bogdan Bácanu has received countless prizes and awards. In 1998 he was recognized as “musician of the year” in Australia and became honorary professor at the Sichuan University in China.

In 2008 Bogdan Bácanu formed the Wave Quartet, which, made up entirely of marimba players, is an essential aspect of his work. Since their debut in Berlin, the ensemble has been receiving enthusiastic reviews from both the press and public for their concert tours and recordings.

Bogdan Bácanu plays exclusively on ADAMS Marimbas. The renowned instrument manufacturer developed the 'Bogdan Bácanu Signature Series' of marimba mallets and presented a marimba at the 2015 Musikmesse in Frankfurt that was developed together with Bogdan Bácanu and named after him.

The Artist's Homepage: http://www.bogdanbacanu.com


Lauda Concertata

Works by Emmanuel Séjourné and Akira Ifukube

Bogdan Bácanu, Marimba - The Wave Quartet, Marimba and Percussion - Romanian National Symphony Orchestra - Cristian Mandeal, Conductor

GEN 16441Katalog

Homepage
Aufnahme-Philosophie
Label-Philosophie
Neuerscheinungen
Genuin News
Links
Team
Kontakt
Label-Philosophie
Weltweite Vertriebe
Genuin-Künstler

Bogdan Bácanu, Marimba

Bogdan Bácanu ist einer der profiliertesten Marimba-Spieler der Gegenwart und hat es sich zum Ziel gesetzt, die Marimba als Solo-Instrument in der Musikwelt zu etablieren.
Der 1975 in Bukarest geborene Bogdan Bácanu war bereits im Alter von 13 Jahren Schlagzeuger bei den Bukarester Philharmonikern „George Enescu“ und wurde als 23-Jähriger Professor für Marimba an der Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität Linz – als weltweit Jüngster seines Fachs. Seit 2011 unterrichtet er zusätzlich an der Universität für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Wien. Bogdan Bácanu selbst studierte Marimba am Mozarteum Salzburg bei seinem späteren Mentor, Peter Sadlo.
Seit Beginn seiner Karriere gibt Bogdan Bácanu sowohl Konzerte mit Orchester und Ensemble als auch Solo-Recitals. Engagements führten ihn dabei bislang in weite Teile Europas, nach Asien, Australien, Kanada, Mexiko und in die USA. Auch bei Musikfestivals ist Bogdan Bácanu weltweit regelmäßig zu Gast, so spielte er u.a. während der Salzburger Festspiele, in Lockenhaus, bei der Biennale in Brisbane, dem Princeton Marimba Festival, den Voices of Percussion Wien, dem Musiksommer Grafenegg sowie dem Carinthischen Sommer, den Donaufestwochen, dem World Marimba Festival Osaka und dem „les muséiques“ Festival Basel.
Für Konzerte arbeitet er mit Musikern wie Gidon Kremer, Heinrich Schiff und Keiko Abe zusammen. Eine enge Partnerschaft verbindet ihn außerdem mit der japanischen Marimba-Spielerin Momoko Kamiya.
Bogdan Bácanu spielte unter namhaften Dirigenten wie Dennis Russell Davies, Kent Nagano und Seiji Ozawa und traf dabei auf Orchester wie das Stuttgarter Kammerorchester, das Heilbronner Sinfonie Orchester, das Radiosinfonieorchester und die Philharmoniker in Bukarest und auf Ensembles u.a. des Los Angeles Philharmonic, des New York Philharmonic und des London Philharmonic Orchestra.
Als Interpret zeitgenössischer Werke machte sich Bogdan Bácanu im Rahmen zahlreicher Uraufführungen einen Namen: Komponisten wie John Thrower, Alexander Müllenbach und Emmanuel Séjourné widmeten ihm Werke, die er zum Teil ebenfalls auf CD einspielte.
Auch als Dozent und Juror ist Bogdan Bácanu bei weltweiten Akademien, Festivals, Universitäten und Wettbewerben gefragt. 2006 gründete er einen eigenen internationalen Marimba-Wettbewerb, der im Rhythmus einer Triennale in Kooperation mit dem Mozarteum Salzburg und dessen Internationaler Sommerakademie beziehungsweise an der Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität ausgetragen wird.
Im Laufe seines bisherigen musikalischen Schaffens erhielt Bogdan Bácanu unzählige Preise und Auszeichnungen; in Australien wurde er außerdem 1998 zum „Musiker des Jahres“ ausgezeichnet. Darüber hinaus erhielt er eine Ehrenprofessur an der Sichuan-Universität in China.
2008 gründete Bogdan Bácanu das Wave Quartet, welches, bestehend aus vier Marimba-Spielern, einen essentiellen Aspekt seiner Arbeit bildet und seit seinem Debüt im Konzerthaus Berlin auf Tourneen und Aufnahmen Kritiker und Publikum begeistert.
Bogdan Bácanu spielt exklusiv auf ADAMS Marimbas. Der renommierte Instrumentenbauer entwickelte zusammen mit Bogdan Bácanu eine eigene nach ihm benannte Signature Series und stellte bei der Musikmesse Frankfurt 2015 ein mit ihm entwickeltes und nach ihm benanntes Marimba vor.

Die Künstler-Homepage: http://www.bogdanbacanu.com


Lauda Concertata

Werke von Emmanuel Séjourné und Akira Ifukube

Bogdan Bácanu, Marimba - The Wave Quartet, Marimba und Schlaginstrumente - Romanian National Symphony Orchestra - Cristian Mandeal, Dirigent

GEN 16441DetailsKatalog