Homepage
Recording Philosophy
Label Philosophy
New Releases
Genuin News
Links
Team
Contakt
Label Philosophy
Worldwide Distribution
Genuin Artists

Guy Ben-Ziony, Viola

Guy Ben-Ziony grew up in Israel’s scenic Jezreel Valley. At the age of 9, after seeing The Waltz King, the Walt Disney film about Johann Strauss, he wanted nothing more than to play the violin. A short time later he switched over to the viola and took lessons with leading teachers of his homeland, including Chaim Taub, Gad Lewertoff and David Chen.

An encounter with the renowned violist Tabea Zimmermann influenced him so greatly that he went to Frankfurt to study with her. As a pupil of Tatiana Masurenko at the Universtiy of Music and Theatre in Leipzig, he performed Bartók's Viola Concerto for his concert exam under the direction of Daniel Harding, passing with distinction. Soon thereafter, he was invited to important music festivals as an internationally respected chamber musician, including the Lockenhaus Festival, the Young Artist's Festival in Davos, the Spannungen Heimbach Festival and the legendary Prussia Cove Festival. In addition, he was a member of the Zapolsky String Quartet from Denmark and the Waldstein Ensemble Wien, performing in many of Europe’s major concert halls (Vienna Musikverein, the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, Wigmore Hall in London). His close collaboration with contemporary composers in the Israeli Chamber Project has taken him upon numerous innovative paths. He has also searched for symbiotic collaborations in Germany, for example with the dance company Sasha Waltz & Guests, with which he performed highly acclaimed choreographic concert Gefaltet.

Moreover, as a solo violist he has been a welcome guest with many leading chamber orchestras throughout Europe, including the Camerata Salzburg, the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen and Camerata Bern. Since 2006 Guy Ben-Ziony has been a professor at the University of Music and Theatre "Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy” in Leipzig. He plays on a modern viola by Alexandre Breton (2014) and lives with his family in Berlin.

Foto: Giorgia Bertazzi

The Artist's Homepage: http://www.guybenziony.com


Monodialogue

Works for Viola Solo by Georg Philipp Telemann, Paul Hindemith, Igor Stravinsky and Menachem Wiesenberg

Guy Ben-Ziony, Viola

GEN 16423Katalog

Homepage
Aufnahme-Philosophie
Label-Philosophie
Neuerscheinungen
Genuin News
Links
Team
Kontakt
Label-Philosophie
Weltweite Vertriebe
Genuin-Künstler

Guy Ben-Ziony, Bratsche

Guy Ben-Ziony wuchs im landschaftlich reizvollen Jesreel-Tal (Israel) auf. Im Alter von 9 Jahren wollte er nichts lieber als Geige spielen, nachdem er Walt Disneys The Waltz King über Johann Strauss gesehen hatte. Wenig später wechselte er zur Bratsche und nahm Unterricht bei führenden Lehrern seiner Heimat, wie Chaim Taub, Gad Lewertoff oder David Chen.

Eine Begegnung mit der renommierten Bratschistin Tabea Zimmermann prägte ihn nachhaltig, sodass er zu ihr nach Frankfurt kam, um bei ihr zu studieren. An der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Leipzig legte er mit Bartóks Violakonzert unter der Leitung von Daniel Harding das Konzertexamen mit Auszeichnung bei Tatjana Masurenko ab. Als international geschätzter Kammermusiker wurde er früh zu bedeutenden Musikfestivals eingeladen, darunter Lockenhaus, Young Artist’s Festival Davos, Spannungen Heimbach oder auch das legendäre Prussia Cove Festival. Darüber hinaus war er Mitglied des dänischen Streichquartetts Zapolsky und des Waldstein Ensembles Wien, mit dem er in den großen Konzertsälen Europas gastierte (Musikverein Wien, Concertgebouw Amsterdam, Wigmore Hall London). Mit dem Israeli Chamber Project geht er innovative Wege durch enge Zusammenarbeit mit zeitgenössischen Komponisten. Auch in Deutschland sucht er solche symbiotischen Verbindungen, etwa mit der Sasha Waltz & Guests Dance Company, mit der er das von der Presse vielgelobte choreographische Konzert Gefaltet aufführte.

Auch als Solobratschist ist er gern gesehener Gast bei den führenden Kammerorchestern Europas, darunter die Camerata Salzburg, die Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen oder die Camerata Bern. Guy Ben-Ziony ist seit 2006 Professor an der Leipziger Musikhochschule „Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy“. Er spielt eine moderne Bratsche von Alexandre Breton (2014) und lebt mit seiner Familie in Berlin.

Foto: Giorgia Bertazzi

Die Künstler-Homepage: http://www.guybenziony.com


Monodialogue

Werke für Viola solo von Georg Philipp Telemann, Paul Hindemith, Igor Strawinski und Menachem Wiesenberg

Guy Ben-Ziony, Bratsche

GEN 16423DetailsKatalog