Homepage
Recording Philosophy
Label Philosophy
New Releases
Genuin News
Links
Team
Contakt
Label Philosophy
Worldwide Distribution
Genuin Artists

Mookie Lee-Menuhin, Piano

Powerfully communicated […] this ought to be a record of the year […] this nearly forgotten score has been revived in a sensitive and compassionate performance. The transcendence of the movements is persuasively captured […].

Pianist Mookie Lee-Menuhin has received enthusiastic reviews for her recordings of Shostakovich, Schubert and Schubert-Menuhin from such publications as Gramophone, BBC Music Magazine, DSCH Journal, Primephonic and Classical Source.

Born in Seoul, South Korea,MookieLee-Menuhin has performed throughout mainland Europe and in Scandinavia, Great Britain and Asia, both as a soloist and chamber musician. She has appeared in some of the major halls in Europe and Asia, including Geneva’s Victoria Hall, the Tonhalle Zürich and Bern Casino in Switzerland, Karol Szymanowski Philharmonic in Krakow, Poland, Smetana Hall in Plzeň, Czech Republic, Schloss Elmau (among others) in Germany, Musikhuset and Danish Radio in Denmark and Sejong Hall, Seoul Arts Centre in Seoul, South Korea.

In 2003 Mookie received the prestigious Augustinus Award and the Prince Joachim and Princess Alexandra’s International Prize, as well as winning the Yamaha competition in 2002. Mookie Lee-Menuhin has made many radio and television appearances. including for the BBC, DR, DK4 and Radio Swiss Classic. She is often invited to perform at festivals such as the Festival Pablo Casals in Prades, Menuhin Festival Gstaad, Festival de Bellerive, West Cork Chamber Music Festival, Boğaziçi University Foundation, Smetana’s Litomyšl Festival, Felix Mendelssohn Music Days, Grandes Heures de Saint-Emilion and Seoul Spring Festival.

Mookie Lee-Menuhin is also an avid chamber musician, having performed with artists including Alberto Lysy, Gary Hoffman, Piers Lane, Istvan Vardai, and her husband Jeremy Menuhin. She has released a number of CDs, including first recordings of works by Shostakovich and Stravinsky with Alexander Rozhdestvensky and Jeremy Menuhin, in addition to the premieres of Jeremy Menuhin’s compositions for two pianos.

The Menuhin Duo, of which Mookie Lee-Menuhin is 50%, is a dedicated piano duo specializing in the existing repertoire. The Duo has a rare additional role: that of performing Jeremy’s compositions for two pianos, written with the conviction that contemporary music can be beautiful and comprehensible.

In addition to her performing career, Mookie Lee-Menuhin is passionate about bringing classical music to a wider audience, particularly young children. In doing so, she aims to foster greater communication between performers and their audience.

Mookie Lee-Menuhin studied at Chetham’s School of Music and at the Royal Northern College of Music in the UK with Margaret Fingerhut. She obtained a master’s degree as well as a performance diploma from the Royal Academy of Music in Denmark, and studied with John Damgaard and Ronan O’Hora in London.

The Artist's Homepage: www.mookieleemenuhin.com


The Voice of Rebellion

Piano Duo Works by Jeremy Menuhin

Jeremy Menuhin, Piano - Mookie Lee-Menuhin, Piano - Menuhin Duo

GEN 18610Katalog

Liaison

Works by Alban Berg, Franz Schubert, Béla Bartók and Éric Tanguy

Mookie Lee-Menuhin, Piano

GEN 18604Katalog

Schubert-Menuhin

Piano Music for Four Hands by Franz Schubert

Mookie Lee-Menuhin, Piano - Jeremy Menuhin, Piano

GEN 16412Katalog

Homepage
Aufnahme-Philosophie
Label-Philosophie
Neuerscheinungen
Genuin News
Links
Team
Kontakt
Label-Philosophie
Weltweite Vertriebe
Genuin-Künstler

Mookie Lee-Menuhin, Klavier

Kraftvoll vermittelt […] dies sollte eine Aufnahme des Jahres werden […] die fast vergessene Partitur wird in einer sensiblen und einfühlsamen Aufführung wieder belebt. Die Transzendenz der Sätze wird überzeugend eingefangen […].

Die Pianistin Mookie Lee-Menuhin hat für ihre Aufnahmen von Schostakowitsch, Schubert und Schubert-Menuhin begeisterte Kritiken erhalten, unter anderem von Gramophone, BBC Music Magazine, DSCH Journal, Primephonic und Classical Source.

Mookie Lee-Menuhin wurde in Seoul, Südkorea, geboren. Sie trat als Solistin und Kammermusikerin auf dem ganzen europäischen Festland, in Skandinavien, Großbritannien und Asien auf und spielte in einigen der wichtigsten Konzertsäle Europas und Asiens, darunter die Victoria Hall Genf, die Tonhalle Zürich und das Kultur Casino Bern in der Schweiz, die Filharmonia im. Karola Szymanowskiego in Krakau, Polen, der Smetana-Saal in Plzeň, Tschechien, Schloss Elmau in Deutschland, das Musikhuset und das Konzerthaus des Rundfunks in Dänemark sowie Sejong Hall und Seoul Arts Center in Südkorea.

Im Jahr 2003 wurde Mookie Lee-Menuhin mit dem renommierten Augustinus-Preis, dem Prinz Joachim Preis und dem Internationalen Prinzessin Alexandra Preis ausgezeichnet, 2002 gewann sie den Yamaha-Wettbewerb. Zahlreiche Aufnahmen für Rundfunk- und Fernsehanstalten wie BBC, DR, DK4 und Radio Swiss Classic dokumentieren ihr Schaffen. Sie wurde zu Festivals wie etwa dem Festival Pablo Casals in Prades, dem Menuhin Festival Gstaad, dem Festival de Bellerive, dem West Cork Chamber Music Festival, der Boğaziçi University Foundation, dem Smetana’s Litomyšl Festival, den Felix Mendelssohn Musiktagen Krakau, den Grandes Heures de Saint-Émilion und dem Seoul Spring Festival eingeladen.

Mookie Lee-Menuhin ist außerdem eine begeisterte Kammermusikerin und hat unter anderem mit Alberto Lysy, Gary Hoffman, Piers Lane, István Várdai und ihrem Mann Jeremy Menuhin zusammen gespielt. Sie veröffentlichte eine Reihe von CDs, darunter Erstaufnahmen von Schostakowitsch- und Strawinsky-Werken mit Alexander Roschdestwenski und Jeremy Menuhin sowie die Uraufführungen von Jeremy Menuhins Kompositionen für zwei Klaviere.

Das Menuhin Duo, von dem Mookie Lee-Menuhin 50 % ausmacht, ist ein engagiertes Klavierduo, das sich auf das bestehende Repertoire spezialisiert hat. Das Duo hat es sich zur besonderen Aufgabe gemacht, Jeremy Menuhins Kompositionen für zwei Klaviere aufzuführen, die in der Überzeugung geschrieben wurden, dass zeitgenössische Musik schön und verständlich sein kann.

Neben ihrer Karriere als ausführende Musikerin ist es Mookie Lee-Menuhin ein großes Anliegen, die klassische Musik einem breiteren Publikum und insbesondere kleinen Kindern näherzubringen. Damit will sie eine bessere Kommunikation zwischen den Interpreten und ihrem Publikum fördern.

Mookie Lee-Menuhin studierte an der Chetham’s School of Music und bei Margaret Fingerhut am Royal Northern College of Music in Großbritannien. Des Weiteren erhielt sie den Master und das Konzertreifediplom am Königlich Dänischen Musikkonservatorium. Ihre Lehrer waren John Damgaard und Ronan O’Hora in London.

Fotografie: Sarah Deriaz

Die Künstler-Homepage: www.mookieleemenuhin.com


The Voice of Rebellion

Piano Duo Works by Jeremy Menuhin

Jeremy Menuhin, Klavier - Mookie Lee-Menuhin, Klavier - Menuhin Duo, Klavier

GEN 18610DetailsKatalog

Liaison

Werke von Alban Berg, Franz Schubert, Béla Bartók und Éric Tanguy

Mookie Lee-Menuhin, Klavier

GEN 18604DetailsKatalog

Schubert-Menuhin

Klavierwerke zu vier Händen von Franz Schubert

Mookie Lee-Menuhin, Klavier - Jeremy Menuhin, Klavier

GEN 16412DetailsKatalog