Recording Philosophy
Label Philosophy
New Releases
Genuin News
Label Philosophy
Worldwide Distribution
Genuin Artists

Sarita Kwok, Violin

Sarita Kwok has distinguished herself one of the most captivating and sophisticated performers to emerge from the ranks of Australia’s classical musicians. Described by the New York Times as a “fine young violinist”, she has been enthralling audiences since she was named Symphony Australia Young Performer of the Year in 1998. Her cosmopolitan musical career has included performances as a solo artist, recitalist, and chamber musician throughout Europe, Asia, and North America, and as a featured soloist with the major orchestras of her native Australia. She has been a prize-winner at the Kloster Schöntal, Gisborne , and Lipinski/Wieniawski international competitions.

A committed chamber musician, Sarita was the founding first violinist of the Alianza Quartet, whose “unusually elegant sound” was praised by The New York Times. She has appeared in performances at Carnegie Hall, Sapporo’s Kitara Hall (Japan), Villa Medici (Italy), Théâtre du Jeu de Paume, and Salle Olivier Messaien (France), and has been featured at the Aldeburgh, Pacific, Aix-en-Provence, and Norfolk music festivals.

Sarita is a persuasive advocate of contemporary music. She received critical acclaim for the recording Ezra Laderman’s last three string quartets for Albany records. Her recent recording of Martin Bresnick’s Josephine the Singer for solo violin was described by Gramophone as “gorgeously executed”.

Sarita was the former director of the undergraduate lessons program at Yale, and served for eight years on their faculty. She is currently chair of the Department of Music at Gordon College, Massachusetts, where she is also a resident artist. Sarita received her doctorate from the Yale School of Music. She performs on a violin from 1736 by J.F. Guidantus.

The Artist's Homepage: http://www.saritakwok.com/


Violin & Piano Duos of the 20th century by Janácek, Stravinsky, Prokofiev and Ravel

Sarita Kwok, Violin - Wei-Yi Yang, Piano

GEN 16548Katalog

Homepage
Aufnahme-Philosophie
Label-Philosophie
Neuerscheinungen
Genuin News
Links
Team
Kontakt
Label-Philosophie
Weltweite Vertriebe
Genuin-Künstler

Sarita Kwok, Violine

Sarita Kwok hat sich als eine der faszinierendsten und anspruchsvollsten Interpretinnen profiliert, die aus den Reihen der klassischen Musiker Australiens hervorgegangen sind. Von den New York Times als „erlesene junge Violinistin“ bezeichnet, verzaubert sie ihr Publikum, seit sie zum Symphony Australia Young Performer des Jahres 1998 ernannt wurde. Ihre kosmopolitische Musikerlaufbahn beinhaltet Auftritte als Solistin, Solokünstlerin und Kammermusikerin in Europa, Asien und Nordamerika sowie Zusammenarbeiten mit den wichtigsten Orchestern ihrer Heimat Australien. Sie ist Preisträgerin der internationalen Wettbewerbe Kloster Schöntal, Gisborne und Lipinski/Wieniawski.

Als engagierte Kammermusikerin ist Sarita Kwok Gründungsmitglied und erste Violinistin des Alianza Quartetts, dessen „ungewöhnlich eleganter Klang“ von den New York Times gerühmt wurde. Sie ist aufgetreten in der Carnegie Hall, der Kitara Hall Sapporo (Japan), der Villa Medici (Italien), im Théâtre du Jeu de Paume und im Salle Olivier Messiaen (Frankreich) sowie bei den Festivals Aldeburgh, Pacific, Aix-en-Provence und Norfolk.

Sarita Kwok ist eine überzeugende Anwältin der zeitgenössischen Musik. Die Kritik würdigte sie für die Einspielung von Ezra Ladermans letzten drei Streichquartetten für Albany Records. Ihre kürzlich erschienene Aufnahme von Martin Bresnicks Josephine the Singer für Solo-Violine wurde von Gramophone als „hinreißend ausgeführt“ beschrieben.

Kwok war Direktorin des Bachelor-Studienprogramms in Yale und arbeitete acht Jahre lang an der Fakultät. Zur Zeit hat sie den Vorsitz in der Abteilung für Musik am Gordon College in Massachusetts, wo sie außerdem Artist in Residence ist. Ihren Doktor erhielt sie von der Yale School of Music. Sie spielt auf einer Violine von J.F. Guidantus aus dem Jahr 1736.

Die Künstler-Homepage: http://www.saritakwok.com/


Interchange

Violinen- & Klavierduos des 20. Jahrhunderts von Janácek, Strawinsky, Prokofiev und Ravel

Sarita Kwok, Violine - Wei-Yi Yang, Klavier

GEN 16548DetailsKatalog