Recording Philosophy
Label Philosophy
New Releases
Genuin News
Label Philosophy
Worldwide Distribution
Genuin Artists

The Wave Quartet, Marimba and Percussion

“Refreshingly different,” “Highly musical and somehow infectious,” “rousingly enthusiastic playing”–these are just some of the attributes that were given to the Wave Quartet by the press for Loco, their latest release. For the past eight years the marimba quartet has been approaching music ranging from the baroque to the modern with musical gusto, curiosity and enthusiasm.
The impulse for the quartet’s establishment was a special wish by Bogdan Bácanu, one of the most experienced and renowned masters of his art. Passionate about baroque music, he wanted to be able to perform Johann Sebastian Bach’s concerto for two harpsichords on the marimba and therefore founded the Wave Quartet together with three top-class colleagues: Emiko Uchiyama and Vladi Petrov, who, together as a duo, were prizewinners of several international competitions and Christoph Sietzen, prizewinner of the International ARD Competition and “rising star” of the European Concert Hall Organization (ECHO). The ensemble was officially born in 2008 at the Berlin Konzerthaus, where they performed Bach’s Concerto in C major, BWV 1061a, in an arrangement for four marimbas. It was a concert that thrilled both the press and public, not least because of the quartet’s respectful treatment of the original version but also for the historically informed manner that they approached Bach’s music. Since then, the repertoire of Bach and contemporary composers has been an important aspect of the quartet’s work, leading them to performances with, among others, the Mozarteum Orchestra in the Salzburg Festival Hall and the Romanian National Symphony Orchestra at the Athenaeum in Bucharest. Further concerts and master classes have taken the Wave Quartet to many countries throughout Europe and Asia, where the ensemble has been met with great enthusiasm.
In 2008, the debut CD of the Wave Quartet, Aurora Borealis, was released, which followed one year later with a recording featuring all three of Bach’s concertos for two harpsichords, performed together with the Salzburg Barock under the direction of Peter Saldo. Senza Ripieno, their third recording that was released in 2011, is an intimate recital disc featuring rarely heard baroque works without orchestral accompaniment. In January 2016 the GENUIN classics CD Loco, in which the ensemble dedicates itself to works by Carlos Gardel, Astor Piazzolla and Rodrigo y Gabriela, was released. In this recording, the four musicians and their marimbas musically relay the passion and drama of Tango Nuevo with the same sensitivity and authenticity found in their approach towards baroque music. The next project is already at the starting blocks: in concertos for two to four marimbas, the quartet, together with L’Orfeo Baroque Orchestra, once again explores the music of Johann Sebastian Bach.
The Wave Quartet plays exclusively on marimbas by Adams Musical Instruments.

The Artist's Homepage: http://www.wavequartet.com

Lauda Concertata

Works by Emmanuel Séjourné and Akira Ifukube

Bogdan Bácanu, Marimba - The Wave Quartet, Marimba and Percussion - Romanian National Symphony Orchestra - Cristian Mandeal, Conductor

GEN 16441Katalog


Works by Josh Groban, Astor Piazzolla, Reentko, Carlos Gardel and Rodrigo y Gabriela

The Wave Quartet, Marimba and Percussion

GEN 16403Katalog

Homepage
Aufnahme-Philosophie
Label-Philosophie
Neuerscheinungen
Genuin News
Links
Team
Kontakt
Label-Philosophie
Weltweite Vertriebe
Genuin-Künstler

The Wave Quartet, Marimba und Schlaginstrumente

„Erfrischend anders“, „Hochmusikalisch und irgendwie ansteckend“, „mitreißende Spielfreude“ – das sind nur einige Attribute, mit denen die Musik des Wave Quartet und ihre letzte Veröffentlichung Loco in der Presse bedacht wurden. Mit Spielfreude, Neugierde und Enthusiasmus nähert sich das Marimba-Quartett seit acht Jahren Werken von Barock bis Moderne.
Ausgangspunkt für die Gründung des Quartetts war dabei ein besonderer Wunsch des Marimba-Spielers Bogdan Bácanu, einem der versiertesten und renommiertesten Musiker seines Fachs: Seiner großen Leidenschaft für die Musik des Barock folgend, wollte er Johann Sebastian Bachs Konzerte für 2 Cembali auch für Marimba spielbar machen – und suchte sich mit Christoph Sietzen, Preisträger des ARD-Wettbewerbs und „Rising Star“ der European Concert Hall Organisation (ECHO), sowie Emiko Uchiyama und Vladi Petrov, die als Duo internationale Wettbewerbe gewonnen haben, drei hochkarätige Kollegen zur Gründung des Wave Quartet. Seine offizielle Geburtsstunde feierte das Ensemble 2008 im Berliner Konzerthaus, wo es schließlich zur Aufführung des Bach-Konzerts in C-Dur, BWV 1061a in Bearbeitung für vier Marimbas kam – ein von Presse und Publikum begeistert aufgenommenes Konzert, nicht zuletzt auf Grund des respektvollen Umgangs mit dem Original sowie dem historisch informierten Ansatz, mit dem sich das Quartett Bachs Werk näherte. Das Repertoire von Bach und Zeitgenossen stellt seither einen wichtigen Schwerpunkt in der Arbeit des Quartetts dar und führte u. a. zu Auftritten mit dem Mozarteumorchester im Großen Festspielhaus Salzburg oder dem Romanian National Symphony Orchestra im Bukarester Athenäum. Weitere Konzerte sowie Meisterkurse führten das Wave Quartet durch viele Länder Europas und nach Asien, wo es seit Gründung auf begeisterte Resonanz stößt.
Bereits 2008 erschien die Debüt-CD des Wave Quartet Aurora Borealis, der ein Jahr später eine Aufnahme mit allen drei Konzerten Bachs für 2 Cembali folgte, bei der Peter Sadlo das Originalklangorchester Salzburg Barock dirigierte. Mit Senza Ripieno erschien im Jahr 2011 die dritte Aufnahme, die mit selten zu hörenden Werken der Barock-Zeit, im intimen Rahmen ohne Orchesterbegleitung gespielt, aufwartete. Im Januar 2016 schließlich erschien bei GENUIN classics die CD Loco, auf der sich das Ensemble Werken von Carlos Gardel, Astor Piazzolla und Rodrigo y Gabriela widmet – ebenso feinfühlig und authentisch wie die Musik des Barock bringen die vier Musiker auf ihren Marimbas dort die Leidenschaft und Dramatik des Tango Nuevo zum Klingen. Das nächste große Projekt steht dabei schon in den Startlöchern: In Konzerten für zwei bis vier Marimbas erkundet das Quartett gemeinsam mit dem L’Orfeo-Barockorchester erneut das Werk Johann Sebastian Bachs.
Das Wave Quartet spielt exklusiv auf Marimbas von Adams Musical Instruments.

Die Künstler-Homepage: http://www.wavequartet.com


Lauda Concertata

Werke von Emmanuel Séjourné und Akira Ifukube

Bogdan Bácanu, Marimba - The Wave Quartet, Marimba und Schlaginstrumente - Romanian National Symphony Orchestra - Cristian Mandeal, Dirigent

GEN 16441DetailsKatalog

Loco

Werke von Josh Groban, Astor Piazzolla, Reentko, Carlos Gardel und Rodrigo y Gabriela

The Wave Quartet, Marimba und Schlaginstrumente

GEN 16403DetailsKatalog