Recording Philosophy
Label Philosophy
New Releases
Genuin News
Label Philosophy
Worldwide Distribution
Genuin Artists

Frank Dupree, Piano

German pianist Frank Dupree has recently come to international prominence as the laureate prize winner of the 2014 German Music Competition in Bonn, having enamoured the judges with his musical maturity, refined technique, and ability to draw a wide spectrum of sound and colour from the keyboard. Renowned pianist Emanuel Ax has remarked that he is "a sincere, feeling, and enormously interesting artist, whom I have no doubt will be a major presence amongst the leading musicians of his generation".

Initially trained as a percussionist, Frank celebrates the breadth and depth of the piano repertoire, ranging from baroque to classical to contemporary. He is an enthusiast for new music especially, having already worked closely with composers such as Péter Eötvös and Wolfgang Rihm, the latter of whose work CON PIANO? CERTO! was given its world premiere by Frank with conductor Justin Brown and the Badische Staatskapelle Karlsruhe in June 2015.

Frank Dupree's most recent CD recording is another display of his musical versatility. Appearing in the summer of 2015 under the GENUIN classics label, his Debut Opus 1 features works of Beethoven, Berg, Berio and the first ever recording of Eötvös‘ Erdenklavier – Himmelklavier.

Highlights of Frank's past engagements include concerts with the Orchestre de Chambre de Paris, Minnesota Orchestra, Bern Symphony Orchestra, Beethoven Orchestra Bonn, Vestfold Symphony Orchestra (Norway), and other orchestras in Germany including the Badische Staatskapelle Karlsruhe, Baden Baden Philharmonic, and the Meininger Hofkapelle. Frank is also an active chamber musician and was most recently invited on scholarship to the Chamber Music Academy of the Heidelberg Spring Festival and the Verbier Festival Academy.

Throughout 2015-2016 and beyond, Frank will give concerts in more than 30 cities across Germany as the winner of the 2014 German Musikwettbewerb Competition, including solo recitals or chamber music concerts in Bayreuth, Frankfurt, Hanover, Heidelberg, and Cologne. He also performs at the Schleswig Holstein, Ludwigsburg, and Heidelberg Spring festivals and the Septembre Musical festival in Montreux-Vevey (Switzerland), and will make his debut appearances with the Duisburg Philharmonic (Germany), Kristiansand Symphony (Norway), and Malmo Symphony (Sweden) orchestras.

The 2015-2016 season will also see Frank commence a highly anticipated three-season residency with the Deutsche Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz, where he will take curatorial lead in a concert series entitled CONNECT IT!, featuring him play/directing all five Beethoven concerti from the keyboard. Simultaneously, Frank will launch his new "SIXchange" initiative this season too, allowing him to find new and creative ways to connect with and more fully engage audiences around his performances.

Born 1991 in Rastatt, Frank Dupree has been a student of concert pianist and pedagogue Prof. Sontraud Speidel since the age of five. In the winter semester of 2015, Frank Dupree will continue his studies at the Karlsruhe University of Music to receive his master's degree. Master classes with Ralf Gothóni, Klaus Hellwig, Ferenc Rados, and Stephen Kovacevich have given him important momentum and inspiration. Since the summer semester of 2013 Frank Dupree is a scholarship holder of the “Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes” and since 2014 of the “Deutschen Stiftung Musikleben”.

The Artist's Homepage: http://www.frank-dupree.de/

Opus 1

Works by Ludwig van Beethoven, Alban Berg, Luciano Berio and Péter Eötvös

Frank Dupree, Piano

GEN 15368Katalog

Homepage
Aufnahme-Philosophie
Label-Philosophie
Neuerscheinungen
Genuin News
Links
Team
Kontakt
Label-Philosophie
Weltweite Vertriebe
Genuin-Künstler

Frank Dupree, Klavier

Der deutsche Pianist Frank Dupree ist ein junger, aufstrebender und international gefragter Künstler. Mit seiner herausragenden musikalischen Reife, seiner ausgefeilten Technik und seinem farbigen Spiel begeistert Frank Publikum und Presse gleichermaßen. 2014 gewann er als einziger Preisträger den renommierten Deutschen Musikwettbewerb in Bonn. Pianisten-Legende Emanuel Ax schrieb über das Ausnahmetalent: „Er ist ein außergewöhnlicher, empfindsamer und enorm interessanter Künstler. Ich habe keinen Zweifel, dass er noch eine bedeutende Rolle bei den führenden Musikern seiner Generation spielen wird.“

Zunächst wurde Frank als Schlagzeuger ausgebildet, bevor er eine professionelle Pianistenlaufbahn begann. Sein breitgefächertes Klavier-Repertoire erstreckt sich von der barocken bis zur zeitgenössischen Musik. Besonders die Uraufführung zeitgenössischer Werke zeichnet den facettenreichen Jungpianisten aus. Eine enge Zusammenarbeit verbindet ihn mit namhaften Komponisten wie Péter Eötvös und Wolfgang Rihm, dessen neuestes Konzertstück „Con Piano? Certo!“ er im Juni 2015 zusammen mit der Badischen Staatskapelle Karlsruhe unter der Leitung von GMD Justin Brown zur Uraufführung brachte.

Seine große musikalische Bandbreite stellt Frank Dupree auch auf seiner jüngsten CD-Einspielung unter Beweis. Im Sommer 2015 erscheint sein Debüt Opus 1 beim Label GENUIN classics mit Werken von Beethoven, Berg, Berio und einer Weltersteinspielung von Eötvös‘ Erdenklavier – Himmelklavier.

Höhepunkte seiner vergangenen Engagements waren u.a. Konzerte mit dem Orchestre de Chambre de Paris, dem Minnesota Symphony Orchestra, dem Berner Sinfonieorchester, dem Vestfold Symphony Orchestra (Norwegen) sowie Konzerte mit deutschen Orchestern wie dem Beethoven Orchester Bonn, der Badischen Staatskapelle Karlsruhe, der Baden-Badener Philharmonie und der Meininger Hofkapelle. Frank ist zudem ein hochgeschätzter Kammermusiker und war kürzlich Stipendiat der Kammermusikakademie des Heidelberger Frühlings und der Verbier Festival Academy.

In der Saison 2015/2016 wird Frank als Gewinner des Deutschen Musikwettbewerbs Konzerte in über 30 Städten Deutschlands geben. So konzertierte er bereits beim Schleswig-Holstein-Musikfestival, den Ludwigsburger Festspielen, dem Heidelberger Frühling und dem Festival de Musique Montreux-Vevey (Schweiz). Solo- und Kammermusik-Konzerte führen ihn außerdem nach Bayreuth, Frankfurt, Hannover, Heidelberg und Köln. Des Weiteren wird Frank mit den Duisburger Philharmonikern, dem Kristiansand Sinfonieorchester (Norwegen) und dem Malmö Symfonie Orkester (Schweden) sein Debüt geben.

In Franks eigener Serie „Connect it!“ wird er ab 2016 zusammen mit der Deutschen Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz alle fünf Klavierkonzerte Beethovens vom Klavier aus leiten. Zudem wird er seine von ihm ins Leben gerufene Initiative „SIXchange“ in dieser Saison beginnen, die es ihm und Konzertveranstaltern ermöglichen soll, neue und kreative Wege zu finden, um während einer Aufführung mit dem Konzertpublikum aktiver und enger in Kontakt zu treten.

1991 in Rastatt geboren, wird Frank Dupree seit seinem sechsten Lebensjahr von der Konzertpianistin und Pädagogin Prof. Sontraud Speidel unterrichtet und gefördert. Im Wintersemester 2015/2016 setzt Frank Dupree sein Studium an der Hochschule für Musik Karlsruhe im Masterstudiengang fort. Wichtige Impulse gaben ihm Meisterkurse u.a. bei Ralf Gothóni, Klaus Hellwig, Ferenc Rados, und Stephen Kovacevich. Er ist Carl-Heinz Illies-Stipendiat der Deutschen Stiftung Musikleben und seit dem Sommersemester 2013 Stipendiat der Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes.

Foto: Rosa Frank

Die Künstler-Homepage: http://www.frank-dupree.de/


Opus 1

Werke von Ludwig van Beethoven, Alban Berg, Luciano Berio und Péter Eötvös

Frank Dupree, Klavier

GEN 15368DetailsKatalog