Homepage
Recording Philosophy
Label Philosophy
New Releases
Genuin News
Links
Team
Contakt
Label Philosophy
Worldwide Distribution
Genuin Artists

Stefan Wirth, Piano and Composition

The composer and pianist Stefan Wirth is one of the most versatile musicians of his generation. He pursues an active concert career performing New Music as a pianist and is a permanent member of the Collegium Novum Zürich as well as Geneva-based Ensemble Contrechamps. Stefan Wirth has worked in various capacities with Heinz Holliger, including as piano soloist with the Orchestra della Svizzera italiana and at the Pentecost Concerts in Ittingen, Switzerland. In 2013 he worked with Pierre Boulez on his Second Piano Sonata. Stefan Wirth is also a member of the Gershwin Piano Quartet, which performs at leading festivals such as the Schleswig Holstein Music Festival, the Festival de Musique de Menton and the Schwetzinger Festspiele. He has also appeared as a guest artist at the Mozarteum Basileiro in São Paulo, the Rheingau Music Festival, the Ruhr Piano Festival and the Gstaad Menuhin Festival.

Stefan Wirth's principal piano teachers include Hadassa Schwimmer at the Zurich Conservatory, Stephen Drury at the New England Conservatory, Boston (USA) und Leonard Hokanson at Indiana University Bloomington (USA). Wirth completed most of his composition studies in the US, where his teachers included Michael Gandolfi and P.Q. Phan. He received the Leonard Bernstein Fellowship, which included summer classes at the Boston University Tanglewood Institute where he worked with George Benjamin. He also studied with Oliver Knussen and Colin Matthews at the Britten–Pears Young Artists Programme in Aldeburgh, England.

Stefan Wirth has received many commissions from among others Collegium Novum Zürich, the Munich Chamber Orchestra, Ensemble Makrokosmos, Ensemble ö!, Camerata Variabile, the Bern Chamber Orchestra, Ensemble Aequatuor and German broadcasters WDR for the Wittener Tage für neue Kammermusik and Deutschlandfunk, the Poetische Liedertage in Weimar, the Ruhrtriennale and the Lucerne Festival. His works have been commended three times in the annual "Grammont Sélection" for best Swiss premiere performances. Stefan Wirth has also worked as a pianist, composer and arranger for various stage productions with directors such as Christoph Marthaler and Frank Castorf.


Etudes and Studies

Works by Szymanowski, Ligeti, Ives and Wirth

Stefan Wirth, Piano and Composition

GEN 15342Katalog

Homepage
Aufnahme-Philosophie
Label-Philosophie
Neuerscheinungen
Genuin News
Links
Team
Kontakt
Label-Philosophie
Weltweite Vertriebe
Genuin-Künstler

Stefan Wirth, Klavier und Komposition

Der Komponist und Pianist Stefan Wirth gehört zu den vielseitigsten Musikern seiner Generation. Er ist als Pianist zeitgenössischer Musik sehr aktiv und spielt als festes Mitglied im Collegium Novum Zürich sowie im Ensemble Contrechamps (Genf). Verschiedentlich hat Stefan Wirth mit Heinz Holliger zusammengearbeitet, so zum Beispiel als Solist beim Orchestra della Svizzera italiana oder bei den Ittinger Pfingstkonzerten. Im Jahr 2013 erarbeitete er mit Pierre Boulez dessen 2. Klaviersonate. Auch ist Stefan Wirth Mitglied der Vier-Flügel-Formation "Gershwin Piano Quartet", mit der er auf vielen bedeutenden Festivals konzertiere, so unter anderem auf dem Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival, dem Festival de Musique de Menton, den Schwetzinger Festspielen, dem Morzateum Brasiliero in São Paulo, dem Rheingau Musik Festival, dem Klavier-Festival Ruhr und dem Menhuin Festival Gstaad.

Zu seinen wichtigsten Klavierlehrern zählen Hadassa Schwimmer am Konservatorium Zürich, Stephen Drury am New England Conservatory, Boston (USA) und Leonard Hokanson an der Indiana University Bloomington (USA). Stefan Wirth erhielt seine kompositorische Ausbildung vornehmlich in den USA, wo er u.a. bei Michael Gandolfi und P.Q. Phan studierte. Er erhielt das "Leonard Bernstein Fellowship" für die Teilnahme an den Tanglewood Sommerkursen verliehen, wo er mit George Benjamin arbeitete. Auch studierte er bei Oliver Knussen und Colin Matthews im "Britten–Pears Young Artist Programme" in Aldeburgh/England.

Aufträge erhielt Stefan Wirth unter anderem vom Collegium Novum Zürich, dem Münchener Kammerorchester, dem Ensemble Makrokosmos, dem Ensemble ö!, der Camerata Variabile, dem Berner Kammerorchester, dem Ensemble Aequatuor sowie vom WDR für die Wittener Tage für neue Kammermusik, vom Deutschlandfunk, den PoetischenWeimarer Liedertagen in Weimar, der Ruhrtriennale und dem Lucerne Festival. Seine Werke von dreimal in die "Grammont Sélection" aufgenommen, auf der jeweils die besten Schweizer Uraufführungen eines Jahres vereinigt werden. Außerdem hat Stefan Wirth als Pianist, Komponist und Arrangeur für verschiedene Musiktheater-Produktionen mit Regisseuren wie Christoph Marthaler und Frank Castorf zusammengearbeitet.


Etudes and Studies

Werke von Szymanowski, Ligeti, Ives und Wirth

Stefan Wirth, Klavier und Komposition

GEN 15342DetailsKatalog