Homepage
Recording Philosophy
Label Philosophy
New Releases
Genuin News
Links
Team
Contakt
Label Philosophy
Worldwide Distribution
Genuin Artists

Amaryllis Quartett



The Amaryllis Quartett has regularly thrilled audiences and the critical press alike. Reviews describing the quartet as "compellingly refreshing and intelligently unconventional" (BNN) and praising its "astoundingly immaculate technique" (Süddeutsche Zeitung) confirm the ensemble’s standing as one of the most outstanding string quartets of its generation.

In its recital programming and its recordings, the Amaryllis Quartett places classical quartet literature alongside newer compositions in order to create new listening experiences. Premiere performances of works by composers such as Johannes Fischer, David Philip Hefti or Lin Yang are given as much importance as the rediscovery of forgotten masterpieces such as the string quartets of the Hungarian composer Géza Frid.

The four musicians, who studied with Walter Levin in Basel, subsequently with the Alban Berg Quartet in Cologne and with Günter Pichler in Madrid, have won numerous international prizes, among them the Finalists’ Prize at the Premio Paolo Borciani 2011 in Reggio Emilia and only four weeks later First Prize and the Monash University Grand Prize at the 6th Melbourne International Chamber Music Competition. In 2012 the quartet was also awarded the Chamber Music Prize of the Jürgen Ponto Foundation.

Concert tours have taken the Amaryllis Quartett to the Alte Oper Frankfurt, the Tonhalle in Zurich, Vienna's Musikverein, Teatro della Pergola in Florence, Gran Teatro La Fenice in Venice and Dai-ichi Seimei Hall in Tokyo. The ensemble is a frequent guest at festivals including the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival, the Schwetzingen SWR Festival, Heidelberger Frühling, as well as the Rheingau Festival and Lucerne Festival.

The quartet has also inaugurated its own recital series at the Concert Hall in Solothurn, Switzerland and is performing a cycle entitled amaryllis 3x3 at the Laeiszhalle Hamburg, the Lübecker Kolosseum and the Radio Bremen Sendesaal.

The Amaryllis Quartett regularly performs with chamber music partners Barbara Westphal, Dimitri Ashkenazy, François Benda, Patrick Demenga, Volker Jacobsen, Paul Katz, Jens Peter Maintz, Gustav Rivinius, Gerhard Schulz and Michael Tree.

The 2011 release, White, with works by Webern and Haydn won the ECHO Klassik Award as the best chamber music recording in 2012. This CD marked the beginning of the highly acclaimed “Color Series,” in which works from different historical periods are juxtaposed in each release. The present release, Yellow, is the final installment in the series.

In addition to its busy concert career, the quartet is also very devoted to passing its experience on to other musicians. For example, it gives master classes, and a number of its members also teach chamber music classes at German state music conservatories.

Tomoko Akasaka recently joined the Amaryllis Quartett as its violist in April of 2016. After ten highly fruitful and intensive years with the ensemble, Lena Eckels has chosen to pursue a new path for herself. Tomoko Akasaka lives in Berlin and has won various competition prizes, among them the 53rd International ARD Music Competition in Munich.

Photography: Tobias Wirth

The Artist's Homepage: http://www.amaryllis-quartett.com


Yellow

String Quartets by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and Arnold Schoenberg 2 CDs for the price of 1 CD

Amaryllis Quartett - Katharina Persicke, Soprano

GEN 16438Katalog

Blue

String Quartets by Claude Debussy, Lin Yang and Maurice Ravel

Amaryllis Quartett

GEN 15373Katalog

Green

String Quartets by Robert Schumann and György Kurtág

Amaryllis Quartett

GEN 13290Katalog

Franz Schubert Octet

Franz Schubert: Octet in F major, D 803

Markus Krusche, Clarinet - Daniel Mohrmann, Bassoon - Christoph Eß, Horn - Alexandra Hengstebeck, Double Bass - Amaryllis Quartett

GEN 13269Katalog

Red

String Quartets by Ludwig van Beethoven and Alban Berg

Amaryllis Quartett

GEN 13261Katalog

FREE LISTENING: CD Sampler

10 Years GENUIN classics

Ramón Ortega Quero, Oboe - cello project - Eckart Runge, Jacques Ammon - sonic.art, Saxophon quartet - Viviane Chassot, Accordion - Kit Armstrong, Piano - Andrej Bielow, violin - Adrian Brendel, cello - Amaryllis Quartett - Tobias Koch, Piano - Paul Badura-Skoda, Piano - Nicolas Altstaedt, Cello - José Gallardo, piano - Michael Schäfer, Piano - Toutes Suites - Camerata Musica Limburg - Dresdner Philharmonie - Michael Sanderling, Conductor

FREE LISTENINGKatalog

White

String Quartets by Joseph Haydn and Anton Webern

Amaryllis Quartett

GEN 11218Katalog

Homepage
Aufnahme-Philosophie
Label-Philosophie
Neuerscheinungen
Genuin News
Links
Team
Kontakt
Label-Philosophie
Weltweite Vertriebe
Genuin-Künstler

Amaryllis Quartett



„Aufregend frisch und auf kluge Weise unkonventionell“ (BNN) und mit „staunenswert makelloser Technik“ (SZ) begeistert das Amaryllis Quartett in seinen Konzerten regelmäßig Publikum und Presse und gehört damit zu den interessantesten Streichquartetten seiner Generation.

In seinen Konzertprogrammen ebenso wie bei seinen Einspielungen ist es dem Amaryllis Quartett ein Anliegen, Klassiker der Quartettliteratur auf ungewöhnliche Weise mit Neuem zu kombinieren und dadurch neue Hörwelten zu eröffnen. Die Uraufführung von Werken zeitgenössischer Komponisten wie Johannes Fischer, David Philip Hefti oder Lin Yang nimmt dabei einen ebenso wichtigen Platz ein wie die Wiederentdeckung heute vergessener Meisterwerke, etwa der Streichquartette des ungarischen Komponisten Géza Frid.

Die vier Musiker, die bei Walter Levin in Basel, später dann beim Alban Berg Quartett in Köln und bei Günter Pichler in Madrid ausgebildet wurden, gewannen zahlreiche internationale Preise, darunter den Finalisten-Preis beim Premio Paolo Borciani 2011 in Reggio Emilia und nur vier Wochen später den ersten Preis und den Monash University Grand Prize bei der 6th International Chamber Music Competition in Melbourne. Im Jahr 2012 wurde ihnen außerdem der Kammermusikpreis der Jürgen Ponto-Stiftung verliehen.

Konzertreisen führten das Amaryllis Quartett u. a. in die Alte Oper Frankfurt, die Tonhalle Zürich, den Wiener Musikverein, das Teatro della Pergola Firenze, das Gran Teatro La Fenice di Venezia und in die Dai-ichi Seimei Hall Tokio. Regelmäßig gastiert es auf Festivals wie dem Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival, den Schwetzinger SWR Festspielen, dem Heidelberger Frühling, dem Rheingau Musik Festival und dem Lucerne Festival.
Außerdem rief das Quartett seine eigene Konzertreihe im Konzertsaal Solothurn ins Leben und gestaltet unter dem Motto amaryllis 3x3 einen Zyklus in der Laeiszhalle Hamburg, im Lübecker Kolosseum und im Bremer Sendesaal.

Zu den Kammermusikpartnern des Amaryllis Quartetts zählen Barbara Westphal, Dimitri Ashkenazy, François Benda, Patrick Demenga, Volker Jacobsen, Paul Katz, Jens-Peter Maintz, Gustav Rivinius, Gerhard Schulz und Michael Tree.

Die 2011 erschienene CD White mit Werken von Haydn und Webern wurde 2012 mit dem ECHO Klassik für die beste Kammermusikeinspielung des Jahres ausgezeichnet. Sie bildete den Auftakt zu der von der Presse hochgelobten „Farbenreihe“, in der Werke verschiedener Epochen miteinander in Beziehung gesetzt werden. Die jetzt vorliegende Einspielung Yellow schließt diese Reihe ab.

Neben seiner Konzerttätigkeit ist das Quartett auch sehr daran interessiert, seine Erfahrung weiterzugeben. So unterrichten die Musiker bei verschiedenen Meisterkursen; mehrere Mitglieder des Quartetts haben ihre eigenen Kammermusikklassen an deutschen Hochschulen.

Seit April 2016 ist Tomoko Akasaka Bratschistin des Amaryllis Quartetts. Lena Eckels entschied sich nach zehn intensiven und erlebnisreichen gemeinsamen Jahren, andere Wege zu gehen. Tomoko Akasaka lebt in Berlin und ist u. a. Preisträgerin des 53. Internationalen Musikwettbewerbs der ARD in München.

NEWS
17.1.2013: Das Amaryllis Quartett stellt sich im Video-Portrait vor
6.11.2012: Amaryllis Quartett erhält Jürgen-Ponto-Preis in Höhe von 60.000 Euro
19.10.2012: Amaryllis Quartett auf ECHO Klassik Gala geehrt

Fotografie: Tobias Wirth

Die Künstler-Homepage: http://www.amaryllis-quartett.com


Yellow

Streichquartette von Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart und Arnold Schönberg 2 CDs zum Preis von 1

Amaryllis Quartett - Katharina Persicke, Sopran

GEN 16438DetailsKatalog

Blue

Streichquartette von Claude Debussy, Lin Yang und Maurice Ravel

Amaryllis Quartett

GEN 15373DetailsKatalog

Green

Streichquartette von Robert Schumann und György Kurtág

Amaryllis Quartett

GEN 13290DetailsKatalog

Franz Schubert Oktett

Franz Schubert: Oktett F-Dur, D 803

Markus Krusche, Klarinette - Daniel Mohrmann, Fagott - Christoph Eß, Horn - Alexandra Hengstebeck, Kontrabass - Amaryllis Quartett

GEN 13269DetailsKatalog

Red

Streichquartette von Ludwig van Beethoven und Alban Berg

Amaryllis Quartett

GEN 13261DetailsKatalog

FREE LISTENING: CD Sampler

10 Years GENUIN classics

Ramón Ortega Quero, Oboe - cello project - Eckart Runge, Jacques Ammon - sonic.art, Saxophonquartett - Viviane Chassot, Akkordeon - Kit Armstrong, Klavier - Andrej Bielow, Violine - Adrian Brendel, Violoncello - Amaryllis Quartett - Tobias Koch, Klavier - Paul Badura-Skoda, Klavier - Nicolas Altstaedt, Violoncello - José Gallardo, Klavier - Michael Schäfer, Klavier - Toutes Suites - Camerata Musica Limburg - Dresdner Philharmonie - Michael Sanderling, Dirigent

FREE LISTENINGDetailsKatalog

White

Streichquartette von Joseph Haydn und Anton Webern

Amaryllis Quartett

GEN 11218DetailsKatalog