Homepage
Recording Philosophy
Label Philosophy
New Releases
Genuin News
Links
Team
Contakt
Label Philosophy
Worldwide Distribution
Genuin Artists

Nils Mönkemeyer, Viola

Nils Mönkemeyer numbers among the outstanding violists of the new generation of concert artists. While still a student, Mr. Mönkemeyer began an intensive concert career. He has been invited to appear in numerous sonata recitals and perform as soloist at festivals such as the Niedersächsische Musiktage, the Rheingau Musikfestival and the Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. As First Prize winner of the 2006 German Music Competition, he was also selected to perform in the competition’s Young Artists Concerts. He has appeared in concert with orchestras such as the Radio-Symphonieorchester Wien, the WDR Rundfunkorchester Köln, the Russian National Orchestra and the Brandenburgisches Staatsorchester, performing with conductors such as Michael Sanderling, Reinhard Goebel, Michail Jurowski. He has appeared in concert with chamber music partners including Julia Fischer, Leonidas Kavakos, Christoph Poppen.
During the 2007/2008 concert season he will be performing on a concert tour of Europe
with the Moscow Soloists under the direction of Yuri Bashmet.
Nils Mönkemeyer began his musical studies with Prof. Hariolf Schlichtig at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Munich, as well as with Prof. Veronika Hagen at the Mozarteum in Salzburg, obtaining his master-class diploma with highest honors in 2003. Since 2006, he has been assistant to Prof. Diemut Poppen and Professor for Orchestral Studies at the Escuela Superior de Música Reina Sofia Madrid. He has also gained valuable impulses through regular concert appearances with Yuri Bashmet.
Nils Mönkemeyer has won prizes at numerous international competitions including First Prize and Special Prize for the best Schnittke concerto performance and the spezial Best Artist prize at the 2006 Yuri Bashmet Viola Competition, First Prize at the 2006 German Music Competition, the GWK-Förderpreis 2006, the 2006 scholarship of the Bank Monte del Paschi (awarded by the Fondazione Accademia Chigiana Siena), First Prize at the ORF’s 2005 International Viola Competition in Vienna, and the Carl-Flesch Prize 2005, and was a prize winner at the International Primrose Viola Competition in the US.
He was named a scholarship winner by the Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes, and by Villa Musica, and was selected for the Werner Richard-Dr. Carl Dörken Foundation’s Meister von Morgen” (Masters of Tomorrow) scholarship program for aspiring soloists.m He plays a viola from the workshop of Munich violin maker Peter Erben.


Works by L. van Beethoven, D. Schostakowitsch and A. Pärt

Deutscher Musikwettbewerb Laureates 2006

Nils Mönkemeyer, Viola - Nicholas Rimmer, Piano

GEN 88115Katalog

Homepage
Aufnahme-Philosophie
Label-Philosophie
Neuerscheinungen
Genuin News
Links
Team
Kontakt
Label-Philosophie
Weltweite Vertriebe
Genuin-Künstler

Nils Mönkemeyer, Viola

"Ich sage Nils eine große Karriere voraus und erkenne ihn als aussergewöhnlichen und ausgereiften Künstler an."
Yuri Bashmet

Nils Mönkemeyer gehört zu den herausragenden Bratschisten der Nachwuchsgeneration. Bereits während seines Studiums entwickelt Nils Mönkemeyer eine intensive Konzertkarriere. Er wird zu einer Vielzahl von Sonatenabenden und Solo-Auftritten bei Festivals wie den Niedersächsischen Musiktagen, dem Rheingau Musikfestival oder den Festspielen Mecklenburg-Vorpommern eingeladen. Als Preisträger des Deutschen Musikwettbewerbs 2006 wird er auch in die „Konzerte Junger Künstler“ aufgenommen. Er spielt mit Orchestern wie dem Radio-Symphonieorchester Wien, dem WDR Rundfunkorchester Köln, dem Russischen Nationalorchester oder dem Brandenburgischen Staatsorchester unter Leitung von Dirigenten wie Michael Sanderling, Reinhard Goebel, Michail Jurowski u.a. Als Kammermusikpartner konzertiert er mit Künstlern wie Julia Fischer, Leonidas Kavakos, Christoph Poppen u.a.
In der Saison 2007/2008 wird Nils u.a. eine Europatournee mit den Moscow Soloists unter der Leitung von Yuri Bashmet bestreiten.
Nils Mönkemeyer erhält seine musikalische Ausbildung zunächst bei Prof. Hariolf Schlichtig an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater München sowie bei Prof. Veronika Hagen am Mozarteum in Salzburg und schließt sein Studium im Juli des Jahres 2003 „mit Auszeichnung“ und dem Meisterklassendiplom ab. Seit 2006 ist er Assistent von Prof. Diemut Poppen und Professor für das Orchesterprogramm an der Escuela Reina Sofia in Madrid. Wichtige Anregungen erhält er außerdem durch die regelmäßige Zusammenarbeit mit Yuri Bashmet.
Nils Mönkemeyer ist Preisträger zahlreicher internationaler Wettbewerbe: Erster Preis, Sonderpreis für bestes Schnittke-Konzert und Sonderpreis für „Best Artist“ beim Yuri Bashmet Viola Competition 2006, Preis Deutscher Musikwettbewerb 2006, GWK-Förderpreis 2006, Förderpreis 2006 der Bank Monte del Paschi (verliehen von der Fondazione Accademia Chigiana Siena), erster Preis beim Internationalen Violawettbewerb 2005 des ORF in Wien, Carl-Flesch-Förderpreis 2005, International Primrose Viola Competition (USA) u.a. Er war Stipendiat der Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes, der Villa Musica und wurde in das Solistenförderprogramm „Meister von Morgen“ des Werner Richard-Dr. Carl Dörken Stiftung aufgenommen. Er spielt eine Bratsche aus der Werkstatt des Münchener Geigenbauers Peter Erben.

In der Neuen Musikzeitung beantwortet Nils Mönkemeyer im Steckbrief 11 Fragen über sich und seine Musik


Werke von L. van Beethoven, D. Schostakowitsch und A. Pärt

Deutscher Musikwettbewerb Laureate/Preisträger 2006

Nils Mönkemeyer, Viola - Nicholas Rimmer, Klavier

GEN 88115DetailsKatalog